If you're facing misdemeanor DWI charges, you need to know exactly what the charges are, and that means looking at the five different levels that can be used in North Carolina. They are as follows:
This is the least serious offense. You could end up with a fine of no more than $200 and a jail term running between 24 hours and 60 days.
For a Level Four conviction, you could get a fine of no more than $500. A potential jail term would run between 48 hours and 120 days.
At Level Three, the potential fine increases to a maximum of $1,000, and the potential jail term can be between 72 hours and six months.
The fine at Level Two maxes out at $2,000, and the jail term can be between seven days and one year. The sentences at the other levels can be suspended by a judge, but the sentence at Level Two cannot.
This is typically used with repeat offenders and those with other extenuating circumstances. The fine could be as much as $4,000 and the jail term could run between 30 days and two years. Again, the judge can't suspend it.
Finally, a felony DUI can be used if you had three prior convictions on DWI charges that happened within the last seven years. The minimum sentence for a felony charge is a year behind bars.
No matter what level of DUI charges you're facing, be sure that you know all of your rights and your legal defense options.
Source: North Carolina Department of Public Safety, "Driving While Impaired," accessed March 04, 2016